Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: User Roles
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

About users and roles

A role is defined by its specific privileges. When you associate a role with a user, that user is granted all of the role's corresponding privileges.

Standard roles defined

There are two standard roles for the BIG-IQ system. Access to features is defined by the user's role and license.

Role Definition
Administrator This user has complete access to all system functionality and licensed software panels. The cloud administrator performs the tasks required for licensing, adding new users, and cloud management.
Security Manager This user has access only to the firewall panel, and performs tasks specific only to firewall security.

Changing the default password for the administrator user

You must specify the management IP address settings for the BIG-IQ system to prompt the system automatically create the administrator user.
After you initially license and configure the BIG-IQ system, it is important to change the password for the administrator password user from the default password, admin.
  1. Log in to the BIG-IQ system with the administrator user name and password.
  2. At the top of the screen, click System >Users.
  3. On the Users panel, click the properties gear for Admin User.
  4. In the Password and Confirm Password fields, type a new password.
  5. Click the Add button.

Changing the default password for the root user

You must specify the management IP address settings for the BIG-IQ system to prompt the system automatically create the root user.
After you initially license and configure the BIG-IQ system, it is important to change the password for the root user from the default password, default.
  1. Log in to the BIG-IQ system with the administrator user name and password.
  2. At the top of the screen, click Users.
  3. On the Users panel, click the gear icon for the root user.
  4. In the Password and Confirm Password fields, type a new password.
  5. Click the Save button.

Adding a new user

You add a user before you specify the role that defines their access to specific BIG-IQ system functionality and resources.
  1. Log in to the BIG-IQ system with the administrator user name and password.
  2. At the top of the screen, click Users.
  3. In the Username field, type the user name.
  4. In the Full Name field, type a name to identify this user. The full name can contain a combination of symbols, letters, numbers and spaces.
  5. In the Password and Confirm Password fields, type the password for the new user.
  6. Click the Add button.
You can now specify a role for this user.

Assigning a standard role to a user

Before you can specify a user role for a user, you must have added the user.
When you specify a role for a user, you define the resources the user can view and modify. You can associate a user with multiple roles.
  1. In the Users panel, click the name of the user to which you want to assign a role, and drag and drop it on one of the following roles in the Roles panel.
    Option Description
    Administrator This user has complete access to all system functionality and licensed software panels. The administrator performs the tasks required for licensing, adding new users, and cloud management.
    Firewall Manager This user has access only to the firewall software panel, and performs tasks associated only with security.
    A confirmation pop-up screen opens.
  2. Click the Confirm button to assign this user the selected role.
This user now has access to the resources associated with the role you specified.

Disassociating a user from a role

Use this procedure to disassociate a user from an assigned role.
  1. Log in to the BIG-IQ system with the administrator user name and password.
  2. At the top of the screen, click System >Users.
  3. Click the name of the user you want to edit.
  4. For the User Roles property, delete the user role that you want to disassociate from this user.
  5. Click the Save button to save your changes.
This user no longer has the privileges associated with the role you deleted.
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)