Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: Prepare to Upgrade a Logging Node Without Restoring Data
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Check Logging Node health

You can use the Logging Configuration screen to review the overall health and status of the Logging Nodes you've configured. You can use the data displayed on this screen both before and after an upgrade to verify that your Logging Node cluster configuration is as you expect it to be.
Note: Perform this check on the BIG-IQ®; not on the Logging Node.
  1. At the top of the screen, click System Management.
  2. At the top of the screen, click Inventory.
  3. On the left, expand BIG-IQ LOGGING and then select Logging Configuration.
    The Logging Configuration screen opens to display the current state of the logging node cluster defined for this device.
  4. Record these Logging Node cluster details as listed in the Summary area.
    • Logging Nodes in Cluster
    • Nodes in Cluster
    This information provides a fairly detailed overview that describes the Logging Node cluster you have created to store alert or event data. After you complete an upgrade, you can check the health again, and use this information to verify that the cluster restored successfully.
  5. If there are any cluster health issues, resolve those issues and then repeat the process until the cluster health is as expected.

Deactivate Logging Node services

Before you can successfully upgrade your Logging Node cluster, you must deactivate the services that send alerts or events to the Logging Nodes.
Note: Perform this check on the BIG-IQ® Centralized Management device; not on the Logging Node.
  1. At the top of the screen, click System Management.
  2. On the left, expand BIG-IQ LOGGING and then select Logging Nodes.
  3. Click the name of a Logging Node.
    The Properties screen for the selected device opens.
  4. On the left, click Services.
  5. For each active service, click Deactivate.
  6. Click Close.
  7. Repeat the steps for each Logging Node in the cluster.
The services on your Logging Nodes stop. Consequently, the Logging Nodes stop accepting alerts or events from the BIG-IP®.

Stop Logging Node cluster

As part of preparing to upgrade your Logging Node, you must shut down the cluster so that upgraded devices and devices that have not yet upgraded do not communicate during the upgrade.
Important: If you omit this step, the cluster will not function after the upgrade.
Note: You must perform this task on each device in the cluster (that is, each Logging Node device, the BIG-IQ® Centralized Management device, and the BIG-IQ HA peer).
  1. Use SSH to log in to a device in the cluster.
    You must log in as root to perform this procedure.
  2. Run the following command to stop the cluster on this device:
    bigstart stop elasticsearch
  3. Run the following command to confirm that the cluster is stopped on this device:
    bigstart status elasticsearch
  4. Repeat the last three steps for each device in the cluster.
Once you have stopped the cluster for each device, you can proceed with the cluster upgrade.
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)