You can manage configuration snapshots for the configurations you have created on the BIG-IQ® Centralized Management system. A snapshot is a backup copy of a configuration. Configuration snapshots are created manually. This type of snapshot does not include events.
You create a configuration snapshot to compare it to another configuration snapshot, or so you can save the current working configuration and then restore from that snapshot if needed.
The system creates the snapshot and adds it to the list of snapshots on the Snapshot and Restore - screen, including information related to the snapshot, including the date it was created, what account created it, and any description.
You can compare two snapshots, or compare a snapshot to the configuration on the BIG-IQ® Centralized Management system to view their differences.
You can restore a snapshot to change the working configuration to that of the snapshot. Restoring the snapshot merges objects from the snapshot into the BIG-IQ® Centralized Management configuration, and removes all active locks. No objects in the BIG-IQ configuration are removed when users restore a configuration from a snapshot. Objects are retained in the BIG-IQ configuration and are not deployed to BIG-IP® systems. Once the restore process starts, you cannot modify the BIG-IQ configuration until the process is completed or canceled. If the process is canceled, all configuration settings are rolled back.