Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: After Upgrading to BIG-IQ version 5.0
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Re-establishing an HA configuration

After you upgrade both BIG-IQ® systems in a HA configuration, you can re-associate the secondary system with the primary BIG-IQ system.
  1. Log in to primary BIG-IQ System with your administrator user name and password.
  2. At the top left of the screen, select System Management from the BIG-IQ menu.
  3. At the top of the screen, click Inventory.
  4. On the left, click BIG-IQ HA.
  5. Click the Add Device button.
  6. Type the properties for the peer BIG-IQ system you are adding, and then click the Add button at the bottom of the screen.
    A popup screen opens, explaining the configuration changes being made.
  7. Click the OK button.
Both BIG-IQ systems in the HA configuration are now running BIG-IQ version 5.0.
Now you should verify that both BIG-IQ system have the same configuration.

Re-specifying configuration settings

Important: In the unlikely event you are unable to log in to a BIG-IQ 7000 series platform after you upgraded it, refer to SOL40338232: The BIG-IQ system interface might be inaccessible after the BIG-IQ system is upgraded from BIG-IQ Centralized Management version 4.5.x or 4.6.0 to 5.0.0 at https://support.f5.com/kb/en-us/solutions/public/k/40/sol40338232.html for more information.

Some settings and configurations are not compatible between BIG-IQ® version 4.5 or 4.6, and version 5.0. After you upgrade to BIG-IQ version 5.0, you’ll need to re-specify configuration settings for any of the following functionality you were using before you upgraded.

System Management:
  • SMTP server settings, except for email recipients, which persist after upgrading.
  • BIG-IQ Logging, logging nodes, and logging configuration
  • Backup Schedules, including retention policies, when upgrading from BIG-IQ version 4.5 directly to version 5.0. If you upgrade from BIG-IQ version 4.6 to version 5.0, the Backup Schedules and retention policies are retained. Refer to the BIG-IQ version 5.0 release notes for more information.

Audit Logging:

  • Archive Settings

Device Management:

  • Backup Schedules, including retention policies, when upgrading from BIG-IQ version 4.5 directly to version 5.0. If you upgrade from BIG-IQ version 4.6 to version 5.0, the Backup Schedules and retention policies are retained. Refer to the BIG-IQ version 5.0 release notes for more information.

Change Management:

  • Configuration Snapshots
  • Evaluate & Deploy

Network Security:

  • Notification Rules and Notification Schedules
  • Change Verification Reports
  • Web Application Security event logs created in a previous version of BIG-IQ are not compatible with BIG-IQ version 5.0.

Global User Settings

  • Reverts to default settings
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)