Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: Understanding vCMP Virtual Disks
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

About virtual disk images

A virtual disk is in the form of an image that resides in the /shared/vmdisks directory on each physical disk. The default file name that the BIG-IP® system initially assigns to a virtual disk is the guest name plus a .img extension (for example, guestA.img). You identify and manage virtual disks on the system using these file names.

A copy of the virtual disk image for a guest resides on each slot pertaining to that guest (either a single slot or all slots, depending on the guest configuration).

About virtual disk migration

In some cases, the virtual disk for a guest migrates automatically from one slot to other slots, or from multiple slots to one slot. You do not need to explicitly manage this migration.

Virtual disk migration occurs when you change the state of a single-slot guest from Provisioned to Configured, and then back to Provisioned. In this case, the system moves the guest to a new slot, copying the virtual disk also.

About virtual disk detachment and re-attachment

When a vCMP guest has no virtual disk and moves from the Configured state to the Provisioned state, the system creates a virtual disk and attaches the disk to the guest. This attachment ensures that only that guest can use the virtual disk. A guest can have only one virtual disk attached to it at any one time.

A virtual disk can become unattached from a guest when you.
Action Result
Delete a guest The system retains the virtual disk on the system for future use.
Change the Virtual Disk property of the guest to None The system retains the virtual disk on the system for future use.
Reboot the system The system deletes all guests, detaches and retains their virtual disks, re-creates the guests, and then re-attaches the virtual disks to their associated guests.
Re-activate the vCMP license on the system The system deletes all guests, detaches and retains their virtual disks, re-creates the guests, and then re-attaches the virtual disks to their associated guests.

If you delete a guest, you can attach its virtual disk to a new guest that you create. Attaching an existing virtual disk to a newly-created guest saves the BIG-IP® system from having to create a new virtual disk for the guest.

Note: A guest must be in the Configured state before you can explicitly detach a virtual disk from a guest.
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)