Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: Performing the Installation
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Once you have completed the pre-installation tasks outlined in Chapter 2, Preparing the System for Installation, you are ready to download the installation image, install the software, and reboot the system. The installation tasks required depend on what software version you are starting with on your BIG-IP® system.
For systems running software version 10.x, you accomplish installation tasks using the Software Management screens. To access the Software Management screens, in the navigation pane of the Configuration utility, expand System, and click Software Management. Then you can complete the tasks described beginning in the section Downloading and importing the installation file.
If the BIG-IP system is already running version 9.6.x, or an earlier versions of 10.x that use the logical volume management (LVM) hard-disk formatting scheme, you can use the Software Management screens in the Configuration utility for installation and upgrading, or you can install and upgrade the software using the command line. The following sections describe the installation process from the Software Management screens.
Important: Beginning with version 10.1.0, you must reformat the systems hard drive partitions even if you plan to maintain 9.x alongside 10.x. The version 9.x-size partitions do not accommodate the 10.1.x software. You use the image2disk utility to reformat the drive and install the 10.1.x software, and then complete a separate operation using a version 9.x installation method described in the version 9.x release notes. For information about using the image2disk utility, see To format the drive for volumes and install the software.
The Software Management screens provide a browser-based method for installing the version 10.x software. To open the Software Management screens, in the navigation pane of the Configuration utility, expand System, and click Software Management. Then you can complete the tasks described beginning in the section Downloading and importing the installation file.
Warning: Do not use the Software Management screens to add or delete partitions. Doing so can result in an unstable condition. You should only use the Software Management screens to add or delete volumes. If you accidentally deleted HD1.1 on a partitioned system and the system has become unusable, you can reboot the system, or run the bigstart restart command on the command line to return the system to an operational state.
The b software commands provide a command line method for installing the version 10.x software.
Warning: Do not use the b software commands to add or delete partitions. Doing so can result in an unstable condition. You should only use the b software commands to add or delete volumes. If you accidentally deleted HD1.1 on a partitioned system and the system has become unusable, you can reboot the system, or run the bigstart restart command on the command line to return the system to an operational state.
You can find information about the b software commands in the man page for the command, available at the command line by typing man software.
To upgrade from software version 9.3.x or 9.4.x, you must use the command line to download and copy over the installation image, run the im command to copy over the image2disk upgrade installation utility, and run the image2disk utility to reformat the systems hard drive and install the software. For information about these tasks, see Appendix A, Upgrading from Versions 9.3.x and 9.4.x and Reformatting for 10.1.x.
You cannot upgrade and roll forward a configuration from versions 9.2.x or earlier directly to version 10.x. If you must retain a configuration from version 9.2.x or earlier, first upgrade to version 9.3.x or 9.4.x, and then upgrade to version 10.x. For information about upgrading to version 9.3.x or 9.4.x, see the release notes for the associated release. If you do not need to roll forward a configuration, you can follow the upgrade instructions in Appendix A, Upgrading from Versions 9.3.x and 9.4.x and Reformatting for 10.1.x.
Before you can install the software, you must download the installation file. You can download the ISO installation image file from the F5 Networks Downloads site, https://downloads.f5.com.
Once you have downloaded the installation file, you must import it to the BIG-IP system. Initiating an installation operation requires that the installation file is available to the BIG-IP system in a specific location: the /shared/images directory. The Software Management screens take care of importing the file to the correct location.
1.
On the Main tab of the navigation pane, expand System, and click Software Management.
The Software Management screen opens.
2.
In the middle-right area of the screen, click Import.
The Import Software Image screen opens.
3.
Click Browse to navigate to the downloaded installation file.
4.
Once the image name appears in the Software Image box, click Import to begin the operation.
The system presents a progress indicator during the operation.
5.
Wait while the system imports the software installation image.
The system presents a message when the operation is complete.
Important: If you navigate away from this screen before the operation completes, the system might not import the image successfully. Therefore, we recommend that you wait for the operation to complete before continuing with any other work on the BIG-IP system.
You can also create a bootable thumb drive or DVD to use as a source for the installation. For instructions for creating a bootable thumb drive, see Appendix C, Creating a Bootable USB Thumb Drive. The following procedures assume that you are using the /shared/images directory on the BIG-IP system.
Once you download the software installation image and import the software image to the /shared/images directory on the BIG-IP system, you can initiate an installation operation. The destination you specify for installation must represent a hard drive volume or partition on the BIG-IP system.
Warning: You cannot install to a CompactFlash® media drive. Attempting to do so halts the installation operation.
In order to install the software successfully, there must be at least minimal disk formatting on the system drives. If the BIG-IP system does not meet this requirement, you can use the diskinit utility to format the drive. For more information, see Recovering blank or damaged hard drives.
Important: You cannot install to the active volume or partition. The destination must represent an inactive volume or partition on the disk.
1.
On the Main tab of the navigation pane, expand System, and click Software Management.
The Software Management screen opens.
2.
From the Available Images column, click the link representing the software image you want to install.
The image properties screen opens.
4.
Click Install.
The installation confirmation screen opens.
5.
To begin the installation operation, click Install.
The installation status screen opens.
6.
To watch the progress of the installation operation, click the Refresh button, or specify a value for the Auto Refresh setting.
The upgrade process installs the software on the inactive installation location that you specify. This process usually takes between three minutes and seven minutes.
Tip: If there is a problem during installation, you can use log messages to troubleshoot a solution. The system stores the installation log file as /var/log/liveinstall.log.
When the installation operation is complete, the system removes the refresh options. When that occurs, you can safely reboot into the newly installed volume or partition.
1.
On the Main tab of the navigation pane, expand System, and click Software Management.
The Software Management screen opens.
2.
On the menu bar, click Boot Locations.
The Boot Locations screen opens.
3.
In the Boot Partition column, click the link representing the boot location you want to activate.
The Boot Location properties screen opens.
4.
Click Activate.
A confirmation screen opens.
5.
Click OK to initiate the reboot operation.
The system presents progress messages during the restart operation.
When the operation is complete, the system presents the logon screen. To configure the system, log on using an account that has administrative permissions.
Important: You will not have access to certain software features and functionality until you complete the post-installation tasks.
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)