Applies To:

Show Versions Show Versions

Manual Chapter: Configuring How and When GTM Saves Configuration Changes
Manual Chapter
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Overview: Configuring how and when GTM saves configuration changes

By default, BIG-IP Global Traffic Manager (GTM) automatically saves GTM configuration changes 15 seconds after the change is made in either the Configuration utility or tmsh. You can change how long GTM waits before it saves GTM configuration changes. In addition, you can disable automatic saves of GTM configuration changes, but then you must run a command in tmsh to save those changes. All changes to the GTM configuration are stored in the bigip_gtm.conf file.

Task summary

Perform one of these tasks to configure how and when the BIG-IP system saves GTM configuration changes.

Changing the automatic configuration save timeout

Ensure that GTM is provisioned on the device.
You can change how long the BIG-IP system waits to save the GTM configuration following a GTM configuration change. For example, if you are making many changes to the GTM configuration at one time, you might want to extend the Configuration Save Timeout to allow you to complete more changes before the GTM configuration is saved.
  1. On the Main tab, click DNS > Settings > GSLB > General. The General configuration screen opens.
  2. In the Configuration Save area, for the Automatic setting, select the Enabled check box.
  3. In the Configuration Save area, for the Timeout field, type the number of seconds that follow a GTM configuration change before the GTM configuration is automatically saved. The values shown in the table are worth noting:
    Value in seconds Description
    0 GTM immediately saves changes to the configuration.
    86400 Maximum number of seconds following a GTM configuration change before the BIG-IP system saves the GTM configuration.
    15 Default number of seconds following a GTM configuration change before the BIG-IP system saves the GTM configuration.
    Warning: Setting the value of the Timeout field to less than 10 seconds can impact system performance.
The BIG-IP system waits the specified number of seconds before saving GTM configuration changes to the stored configuration.

Enabling manual saves of configuration changes

Ensure that GTM is provisioned on the device.
You can disable automatic saves of GTM configuration changes when you want to have strict control over when GTM configuration changes are saved to the stored configuration. CPU usage can be affected simply by saving small changes to a large configuration.
  1. On the Main tab, click DNS > Settings > GSLB > General. The General configuration screen opens.
  2. In the Configuration Save area, for the Automatic setting, clear the Enabled check box to disable automatic saves of GTM configuration changes.
    Important: If you disable automatic saves of GTM configuration changes, to save those changes you must run this command from the command line: tmsh save sys config gtm-only partitions all
  3. Click Update.

Configuring how and when GTM saves configuration changes using tmsh

Ensure that GTM is provisioned on the device, and that your user role provides access to tmsh.
By default, the BIG-IP system automatically saves GTM configuration changes made in the Configuration utility and tmsh. You can change how long the system waits to save GTM configuration changes. You can also configure the system for manual saves that require you to run a tmsh command to save GTM configuration changes.
  1. Log in to the command-line interface of the BIG-IP system.
  2. Run a variation of this command, based on how and when you want the BIG-IP system to save GTM configuration changes: tmsh modify gtm global-settings general automatic-configuration-save-timeout <interval in seconds> Note the value for each save-timeout interval:
    Interval in seconds Value description
    0 GTM immediately saves changes to the configuration.
    -1 GTM never saves changes to the configuration (manual save required).
    86400 Maximum number of seconds following a GTM configuration change before the system saves the change.
    15 Default number of seconds following a GTM configuration change before the system saves the change.
    Warning: Setting automatic-configuration-save-timeout to less than 10 seconds can impact system performance.
GTM waits the number of seconds you specify before saving GTM configuration changes. If you specified -1, then you must save the configuration manually using this command: tmsh save sys config gtm-only partitions all
Table of Contents   |   << Previous Chapter   |   Next Chapter >>

Was this resource helpful in solving your issue?




NOTE: Please do not provide personal information.



Incorrect answer. Please try again: Please enter the words to the right: Please enter the numbers you hear:

Additional Comments (optional)